Sometimes it is simply necessary to block users on Kik Messenger if they are bothering you in some way. If there is someone you would like to no longer contact you, it is very important that you know how to do this. The ability to block someone on this instant messenger app can be of great use, so you will need to keep that in mind.
First Step in block someone on Kik
The first thing that you will need to do when you want to block someone on Kik Messenger is to tap the “Gear” button, which is located in the upper right hand corner of the message list. You will then need to tap “Chat Settings”, or “Privacy” if you happen to be using a Windows Phone or Blackberry. Tap “Block List” to open up a list of the users that you currently have blocked.
If you want to add someone new to the block list so the person will not be able to contact you, it will be necessary to tape the “+” symbol. By doing this you will open up your list of contacts. You will be able to select any of your contacts from the list to block them. You also have the option of typing a specific name or Kik username of someone who is not currently on your contact list. After you type the name, you will need to select it from the search results.
Next you will have to confirm that you want to block the user you have selected. You will see a prompt that will ask you to confirm your decision to block the user. The user will be notified that they have been blocked. All of their messages to you will be displayed as delivered but not read.
You will no longer be able to receive any messages the person sends, unless you choose to unblock them. It’s important to keep in mind that blocking a person on Kik does not delete your previous messages with them on your device.
What will blocked Kik users be able to view of mine?
Blocked users will still be able to view your profile picture and any changes you make to it. Users that you block on this app will also be able to see your messages if you are in the same group chat.
If you ever want to unblock someone who you have blocked, you will need to open up the “Block List” in the “Chat Settings” menu. Simply tap the user you want to unblock and tap the “Unblock” button. This person will now be able to send messages to you, and you can send messages to them.
If you want to be able to tell if you have been blocked by someone else on Kik Messenger, you will be able to send messages to them, but you will see a “D” beside the messages you send them. The person will not receive any of your messages, so the “D” will not change to an “R.”
The person you block will not be able to add you to any group chats. When the person you blocked tries to send you a message, they will not realize they have been blocked, and the messages they send will never be delivered to you.
The fact is that sometimes it is just necessary to block someone, especially if they are harassing you. Thousands upon thousands of Kik users get blocked by others every month, and it is important that you know how to do this in case you are ever in this type of situation.
If someone is harassing you in some way on this instant messaging app, you will want to block them right away. This includes people who might be threatening you or won’t leave you alone even after you have asked them to.
How to report people/Spam on Kik Messenger
Blocking and unblocking people on Kik Messenger is a very easy process that doesn’t take a long time and isn’t complicated at all. While you may never need to block someone on this app, it is always use to know how to do so if the situation occurs.
If you are receiving unwanted messages from someone on Kik Messenger, you always have the option of reporting them. The “Report” option exists to notify Kik staff that there is a huge who is in violation of their rules. If someone is harassing you on this app, it is highly recommended that you report them right away.
In order to report someone for harassment or some other violation of the Kik rules, you will need to tap the “Info” icon, which is located in the top right hand corner. Tap the “More” icon (three vertical dots) in the top right corner of the info screen. You will then need to tap the “Report” button.
You will be able to choose from three options, including “I don’t want to talk to them,” “This is a spam bot,” and “This person is being abusive.” If you wish to include the chat history in your report, you will want to check the option to include it. Finally, you will simply need to tap “Report and Block.”
The “I don’t want to talk to them” reporting option is best chosen when you are receiving unwanted messages from a person on this app.
You should select the “This is a spam bot” option if you keep receiving messages from a spam bot and want them to stop right away. Choose the “This person is being abuse” option to report a user who is sending abusing or threatening messages.
- Having issues with your username? Read our Kik Username guide
After you Report to Kik Spam Team
After you have reported the user to Kik’s spam team, you will have two options from there on, you can either block the user, while keeping the chat archived in your list, or you can completely remove the user and chat messages entirely from your account.
When reporting a user to Kik, you will have the option of selecting how much of the conversation that you would like to provide to the reporting group.
Reporting Groups on Kik
If you are receiving unwanted messages in a group, you will have the option to “Report” specific users or the entire group. When you report an entire group, you will be able to include the full transcript of the group chat.
In order to report a specific user within a group, you will need to tap the profile picture in the group chat of the person who is bothering you. Next tap the three vertical dots located in the top right hand corner of their Profile page. Tap the “Report” button.
When you are reporting a specific user in a group, you will be able to choose from the following options: “I don’t want to be in this group”, “They’re spamming this group,” and “They’re using this group for abuse.”
You can select the “I don’t want to be in this group” option if you do not want to be a part of the group anymore for any reason.
Choose the “They’re spamming this group” option if you want to report a user for spamming within the group with spam links or bots. There is also the “They’re using this group for abuse” option, which is meant for reporting instances of abuse within the group.
You also have the option of reporting an entire group if you so choose. To do this you will need to first tap the Group Info Icon, which is located in the top right corner of the chat.
Then tap the three vertical dots icon, which is located in top right corner of the info screen. Tap “Report Group”. You will be able to choose from the following options: “I don’t want to be in this group,” “This group is offense,” and “This group is being used for abuse.”
Selecting the “I don’t want to be in this group” option is best if for whatever reason you no longer wish to be in the group. There is the “The group is offense” option, which is best if you find that certain members within the group are acting in an offensive way.
This can mean that users are posting sexist, racist or homophobic comments within the group. Any type of cyber bullying qualifies as abuse in this case. The “This group is being used for abuse” option is best if the group itself is being used to do some sort of harm to others.
Things to Remember
It’s important to keep in mind that you have options when it comes to blocking an individual person or even an entire group, as well as reporting an individual or group. There are lots of different reasons why you might want to block or report a person or group, and you can certainly choose to do so at any time.
This article should have provided you with all of the information you need when it comes to the various reasons to block a person and how to go about doing so.